AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY MONTH: SHYANNE HINTON AN AFRO-LATINA AT BLOOMFIELD COLLEGE

 Bloomfield College sophomore and employee Shyanne Hinton has been working at the college for about four years now. 

Image result for bloomfield college

  • Photo Credit: Bloomfield College 

 Shyanne Hinton considers herself Afro- Latina since she is of African American and Peruvian descent Hinton dives into her culture and on how it was growing up with two different cultures. 

Image result for peruvian flag

  • Photo Credit: Wikipedia 

” I spent nine years of my life living in Passaic, New Jersey. For those who do not know Passaic is predominantly Hispanic,  it is populated by many Mexican and Peruvian people. So for the most part of my childhood, I was used to my Peruvian culture.

  • Photo Credit : Shyanne Hinton 

Hinton continues, “ I did not get familiar with my black side of the family until I was nine years old. When I was nine years old I moved to Bloomfield, and that is when I was able to dig deep into my African American side.” 

Bloomfield Township is known for having a high African American percentage.  Bloomfield College is not one to shy away from”celebrating black history month, as it is a PBI (predominant black institution.)

This means that most of the population at the college Even though it is a PBI, there is a lot of diversity at the college. Shyanne gives her take on how life changed when she moved to Bloomfield:

“ Compared to how I was living in Passaic to when I moved to Bloomfield it was a whole different world.Bloomfield is where most of my African American side of the family lives. Growing up in Passaic people when they would see me they would automatically assume that I was only of African American descent. I would have to tell people that I was mixed with Peruvian as well.”

She goes on to say “ In my opinion, Hispanic food and soul food can be similar and I love that. When I moved I had become closer to them and that where I learned how to eat soul food. I also was super athletic when I was younger.

Image result for soul food

  • Photo credit: The Spruce Eats 

My Peruvian side of the family would only talk about playing soccer.  When I got to Bloomfield I started to play soccer, but I also learned more about swimming and basketball, especially basketball.”  

Image result for sports gif

  • Gif Credit: GIPHY 

Hinton then spoke about how she feels being an Afro- Latina in college, and how things are for her now.

“ Well, I’ve been in Bloomfield for the most part of my life now, and high school and college have been the same. Bloomfield is a predominantly black town and college, so physically people see me as a black girl and that find. It usually shocks people to find out that I am Peruvian mixed with black as well,  but that is fine too.” 

Hinton concluded, “Overall, I love being the way I am. I am a proud Afro Latina and, growing up the way I did, I honestly wish I can go back to relive all those memories

Leave a comment